News archive





















January 2007 News

Accies receive "Club of the Year" Nomination

Posted on Wednesday 31st January 2007 by Fraser Murray

Accies are one of 5 clubs to be nominated for the Cricket Scotland's "Club of the Year" for 2006 - a season that saw the 1XI win Division One of the Western Union, return to the National League and reach the final of the Rowan Cup with the U18s winning the WDCU U18 league.

The article below is reproduced from the January edition of the Scottish Cricketer (2.1Mb, pdf).

Scotland's World Cup squad will be the star guests at the Cricket Scotland Annual Awards Dinner, which is being held at the Roxburghe Hotel in Edinburgh on Thursday February 22.

This prestigious black tie event, sponsored by Lloyds TSB Scotland, will provide an opportunity both to wish the squad well in their bid to make an impact in the West Indies, and at the same time help to raise funds for the game in this country.

The occasion will be attended by around 250 corporate guests, and hosted by BBC Scotland's John Beattie just three days before Craig Wright and his team depart for Barbados, where they will prepare for the World Cup, with warm up games against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, before moving to St Kitts.

The highlights of the evening include a review and award ceremony for the 2006 season, which saw a closely fought battle between Grange and Greenock for both the Scottish Cup and Premier League title, while our national side gave Pakistan a run for their rupee.

John Beattie will put the audience's questions to the players, and discuss their prospects in the West Indies, where they face world champions Australia, South Africa and the Netherlands.

Professor David Purdie, who is a leading medical expert as well as a cricket fan and outstanding after dinner speaker is the evening's principal guest.

Nominations for the Evening's Awards

International Batsman of the Year

  • Neil McCallum
  • Ryan Watson
  • Gavin Hamilton

International Bowler of the Year

  • Paul Hoffmann
  • John Blain
  • Craig Wright

Club of the Year

  • Glenrothes
  • Grange
  • Greenock
  • Kelso
  • Glasgow Accies

Club Player of the Year

  • Scott Gourlay
  • Charlie Ellis
  • Mohammed Sharif

Women's Player of the Year

  • Abbi Aitken
  • Fiona Urquhart
  • Catherine Small

Young Player of the Year

  • Omer Hussain
  • Calum MacLeod
  • Fraser Burnett
  • Scott Redhead

A Lifetime Achievement in Cricket award will also be presented.